top of page


SUNDAY | May 5, 2024

Travis Park Church

230 E. Travis St

San Antonio TX 78205

Brett A. Richardson | Conductor and Artistic Director 


Conductor and Artistic Director


Brett A. Richardson

Brett A. Richardson serves as the Director of Bands (Associate Professor) and Baenziger Professor of Music at the Texas Lutheran University School of Music. Prior to his appointment at TLU, Dr. Richardson served on the music faculties of the University of the Incarnate Word, Stephen F. Austin State University, and Clear Creek and Lewisville Independent School Districts in Texas. He also serves as the Conductor and Artistic Director of the San Antonio Harmonie Ensemble, a professional, community chamber winds group founded in 2019 who recently performed an invited showcase concert for the 2022 TMEA Convention and was named a National Finalist in the 2023 American Prize competition for community bands/wind ensembles.


Known for his versatility and energy as a music educator and conductor, Dr. Richardson has conducted numerous junior high and high school All-Region/All-City Honor Bands across the U.S., in addition to serving as a guest conductor at the Midwest Clinic and Texas Music Educators Association Clinic/Conference. In past years, he has collaborated with a wide variety of ensembles including members of the San Antonio Philharmonic, San Antonio Brass Band, Heart of Texas Concert Band, Austin Symphonic Band, Orchestra of the Incarnate Word, and the 2017 Battle of Flowers Celebration Mass Band comprised of nearly 5,000 San Antonio area high school students during the city's annual Fiesta Celebration. His professional affiliations include TMEA, TBA, CBDNA, and Phi Beta Mu. Dr. Richardson holds degrees in wind conducting and music education from Stephen F. Austin State University, Texas A&M University-Commerce, and the world-renowned Indiana University Jacobs School of Music.


Recent honors include an invitation to serve as a Conducting Fellow at the inaugural Reynolds Conducting Institute at the 2018 Midwest Clinic, 2019 UIW Provost's Legacy Teaching Award, and induction into Phi Beta Mu International Honorary Bandmasters Fraternity. An advocate for American music, he has conducted recordings, presented premieres, and participated in commissions of works by composers Brian Balmages, Jim Bonney, David Biedenbender, Ryan Gee, Donald Grantham, Joni Greene, Olivia Kieffer, Gabriel Lubell, James Syler, and Benjamin Dean Taylor.

bottom of page